top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoyce Slater

A Note from the President

Happy New Year!

It is time for an annual report for the year 2018. This will also be presented at the Annual Membership Meeting on January 26th in Sedalia, MO.

At the end of 2017, Larry Brown stepped down as President of MO-TELL. We thank him for his exemplary service to Missouri Storytelling, INC. He kept it alive and worked hard to maintain our relationship with the Missouri State Parks.

I was elected President to continue the work of Larry Brown, and former Presidents, Sue Hinkel and Perrin Stifel. We continued with the following board members, Sue Hinkel, Treasurer, Jim Two Crows Wallen, Secretary, Gary Kuntz, At Large, in charge of the web site and Perrin Stifel, Emeritus. Becky Walstrom joined the board later in the year as an At Large board member in charge of grant writing.

During 2018, MO-TELL sponsored 12 storytellers for Missouri State Parks with the help of an anonymous donor and the State Parks Office. Thank you to our donor and John Cunning in the State Parks office. We were also able to obtain a Missouri Arts Council Grant for $1724.00 to help out with the sponsorship.

Becky Walstrom and Sue Hinkel were responsible for the writing and obtaining of the MAC grant. They deserve a big round of applause for all their time and effort working on this grant. Thank you, Becky and Sue. Thom Howard continues to help us out with our financial reporting and record keeping. Thank you, Thom.

Once again Missouri had a Liar’s Contest. We want to thank Gary Kuntz for the wonderful planning and executing of this year’s event. Let’s also give a bign thanks to Mid-Continent Public Library and Kimberly Howard for their help with it. It was held at the Mid-Continent Public Library, Woodneath Library Center. They not only helped with space for the storytelling and provided judges for the event but they also advertised the it. The day included two workshops and an open mic.

Winners in the Oral Storytelling category were, Ken Wolfe, Christine Henderson and Jim Two Crows Wallen. In the Written Storytelling category the winners were Jim Two Crows Wallen and Carole Shelton.

We started a newsletter this year to better reach our membership. I started it and produced three newsletters. Ken Wolfe took it over last month and is doing a fantastic job. Thank you, Ken.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Note from the President

Hello my friends, I met a storyteller long ago named Michael Lacapa. He was an artist, a writer and a storyteller of Hopi, Tewa and Apache descent. He died in 2005. He was featured at one of the St. L

A Note from the President

Happy New Year, my friends, I am excited about 2024 and all that it will bring. There will be new stories and new storytellers and new opportunities to share the stories. 2023 was phenomenal for MO-TE

A Note from the President

Hello my friends, I love storytelling. It has introduced me to so many wonderful people, people with great passions, people with great courage and people with great love. I was surprised by the joy I

bottom of page